Archive for January 24th, 2010

Dinner with Friends

Our original plans fell through on Saturday night but we were lucky enough to throw together a quick get together with some friends and their kids. I didn’t have a ton of time to decide what I wanted to make for dinner but there was butternut squash recipe that I had wanted to try and I hadn’t made lamb is ages. Viola! Dijon crusted rack of lamb with butternut squash risotto!

I love this Ina Garten Rack of Lamb recipe! It is so easy and I’ve made it several times. I chose to also make a butternut squash risotto and found it very nice and the flavors were subtle enough to not conflict with the lamb. (I used the Ina’ recipe as a base but did not have saffron so I amended it a bit to my own tastes.)

I think i may start making risotto more often, it is so simple and the possibilities are endless! Very fun and tasty Saturday night!

The Woman in White by Wilkie Collins

I finished reading The Woman in White this weekend and I would say that I enjoyed the book. Some parts I really enjoyed and found it hard to put down, others were a bit tedious and hard to wade through. It was pretty long and dense language/writing to get through, but I liked the story being told from diverse perspectives and it took many twists and turns. I would recommend this to someone who a) is ready for a bit of a challenge, b) likes old english literature, and c) enjoys a good mystery.

The is the first book i’ve completed for The Typically British Challenge.

The Woman in White – Wilkie Collins

read, write, and cook blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Cannonball Read V

A bunch of Pajibans reading and reviewing and honoring AlabamaPink.